We want to help you enjoy your visit to our caravan. Prior planning will enable you to choose in advance (& book if appropriate) the activities you would like to do. We have therefore highlighted many local attractions, and provided a calender of local events - just click on the text to find out more about the attraction / event.

We have included a comprehensive sub-divided list of local attractions with web links or contact numbers, but for a good searchable database of mid Wales activities, click here. If you know of any attractions or events we have not included, please advise us using the contact us form.

Whats On Nearby

Local Towns

There are many local towns to explore, some of which are listed below with approximate mileage from our caravan:

ABERGAVENNY (19 miles) - This is a picturesque town situated in the South Eastern corner of Wales only 20 miles from the English border. Abergavenny is steeped in history and enjoys an enviable position close to the industry of middle and western England whilst bathing in the beauty of the Brecon Beacons national park. The community in Abergavenny balances fervent nationalism with an open and friendly hospitality.

BRECON (8 miles) - This is a town where you'll enjoy losing yourself...not only in the narrow streets and passageways lined with Georgian and Jacobean shopfronts, but in the sense of timelessness about the place. Cathedral, market, and plenty of antiques shops.

BUILTH WELLS (14 miles) - Poised on the banks of the River Wye, a lively town with something for all seasons; from year round events at the Royal Welsh Showground to live entertainment at the Arts centre.

 
CRICKHOWELL (13 miles) - Snug between the lower slopes of Table Mountain and the river Usk; said by many to be the most beautiful valley in the National Park; and famous for ts seemingly lop-sided, yet stunning 17th Century bridge.

HAY-ON-WYE (8 miles) - A jewel in the crown of Wales, a little market town famed for its books and the world famous festival.

LLANDRINDOD WELLS (22 miles) - Victorian splendour meets 21st Century leisure; just stroll around the lake or Rock park. Take home a unique piece of art from exhibitions at the museum.

LLANWRTYD WELLS (27 miles) - The smallest town in Britain with the biggest madcap ideas; check out www.green-events.co.uk to see events that stretch the imagination!

RHAYADER (28 miles) - Where East meets West; a natural crossing point in Wales and just out of town is the Elan Valley offering space, scenery and yet more space to explore.

TALGARTH (1 mile) - A small town with a big heart boasting several riding and activity centres. Local takeaways are based here!

Children’s Activities

The Play Barn (indoor play centre) www.brynich.co.uk/playbarn

Kingdom Come Children's Indoor Play Centre www.kingdomcomeplay.co.uk

Brecon Mountain Railway www.breconmountainrailway.co.uk

10-pin bowling at Brecon Leisure Centre http://brecon-leisurecentre.powys.gov.uk

TGS Bowling & Adventure Golf www.tgsbowling.co.uk

Taff Valley Buggy Trails www.adventurewales.co.uk

Martin’s Models Garden Railways 01544 230777

Shine Indoor Play Centre www.shineactivity.co.uk

Fired Creative Arts Workshop www.firedinhay.com

Shortwood Family Farm www.shortwoodfarm.co.uk

National Showcaves Centre, Dinosaur Park, Shire Horse Centre, Barney Owl’s Playground www.showcaves.co.uk

Multi Activity Centre (indoor & outdoor activities for children & adults) www.activityuk.com

Cantref Adventure Farm (with indoor play centre) www.cantref.com

Small Breeds Farm Park & Owl Centre www.owlcentre.com  

Spaceguard Centre www.spaceguarduk.com

Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary www.ape-monkey-rescue.org.uk

Black Mountains Falconry www.bmfalconry.co.uk


Cycling & Mountain Biking

Mountain Biking www.mtbbreconbeacons.com

Cycling www.exploremidwales.co.uk/cycling

Drover Cycling Tours & Bike Hire www.droverholidays.co.uk

Pedalaway Cycle Hire www.pedalaway.co.uk

Bi-ped Cycles www.bipedcycles.co.uk

Ride and Hike www.rideandhike.co.uk

Pedal Power www.mbike.co.uk  

Bikes & Hikes www.bikesandhikes.co.uk

M&D Cycles www.mndcycles.co.uk

Gateway Cycles www.gatewaycycles.co.uk

Coed Trallwm Mountain Bike Centre & Forest Café www.coedtrallwm.co.uk

Epynt Way www.defence-estates.mod.uk/epyntway

Taff Trail  - Talybont Reservoir to Torpantau www.cyclebreconbeacons.com

Garwnant Forest Trails www.cyclebreconbeacons.com

Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal - Brecon to Brynich Lock www.cyclebreconbeacons.com

Festivals, Carnivals & Outdoor Shows

Festival of Welsh Wool www.wonderwoolwales.co.uk

Victorian Festival Llandrindod Wells www.victorianfestival.co.uk

Voices of Shakespeare Festival www.livingwillowtheatre.co.uk

Abergavenny Food Festival www.abergavennyfoodfestival.com

Knighton Serendipity Festival www.knightontown.net

Bromyard Folk Festival www.bromyardfolkfestival.org.uk

Nozstock Festival www.nozstock.com

Builth Wells Carvival Week

Smallholder & Garden Festival www.rwas.co.uk

Royal Welsh Agricultural Winter Fair www.rwas.co.uk

Royal Welsh Show www.rwas.co.uk

Brecon Beacons Summer Fayre www.beconbeacons.org

Talgarth Festival of the Black Mountains www.talgarthfestival.org.uk

Rhayader Carnival www.rhayadercarnival.co.uk

Brecon Baroque Festival www.breconbeaconsmusic.com

Fishing (coarse)

Belfont Lake www.belfontlake.co.uk

Brecon and Monmouthshire Canal 01873 830328

Cyfartha Park Lake, Merthyr Tydfil

Dderw Pool, Llyswen 01874 754224

Llangorse Lake www.llangorselake.co.uk

Pontsticill/Dolygaer Reservoir

Fishing (game)

Aberhyddnant Farm www.abercottages.co.uk

Crai Reservoir 01874 636207

Gliffaes Hotel www.gliffaeshotel.com

Pantysgallog House www.rhyannesretreat.co.uk

Pyscodlyn Farm www.pyscodlyncaravanpark.com

Beacons Reservoir 01495 769281

Cantref Reservoir 01495 769281

Llwyn-On Reservoir 01495 769281

Talybont Reservoir 01495 769281

Upper Neuadd Reservoir 01495 769281

Usk Reservoir 01495 769281

River Usk www.brecontowncouncil.org.uk

Fishing Coaches & Guides

Food

Black Mountains Smokery      www.smoked-foods.co.uk

Black Mountains Cheese        www.cawsmynydddu.com

Welsh Venison Centre & Beacons Farm Shop www.welshvenison.com

Blaenafon Cheddar Company & Mountain Tours www.chunkofcheese.co.uk

Trecastle Tearoom & Farm Shop 01874 636797

Old Railway Line Garden Centre & Coffee Shop 01497 847055

Hay-on-Wye Food Festival www.getactive-beacons.co.uk

Brecon Food Festival www.getactive-beacons.co.uk

Llanwrtyd Wells Food Festival www.food-food-food.co.uk

Mid-Wales Mouthful Food Festival www.wonderwoolwales.co.uk/mouthful

Abergavenny Food Festival www.abergavennyfoodfestival.com

Pilgrims Tearooms & Heritage Centre www.pilgrims-tearooms.co.uk

Aberhyddnant Organic Farm & Tea Room www.aberorganic.co.uk

Gardens (many by appointment only)

www.exploremidwales.com/gardens

Ashford House Garden, Talybont-on-Usk 01874 676271

Coity Mawr, Talybont-on-Usk 01874 676664

Ffrwdgrech Garden and Woodland, Brecon 01874 622519

Gliffaes Country House Hotel, Crickhowell www.glifaes.com

The Hall and Mill Cottage at Abbey-Cwm-Hir, Llandrindod Wells www.abbeycwmhir.com

Llysdinam, Newbridge-on-Wye 01597 860200

Lower House, Hay-on-Wye 01497 820773

Penmyarth, Crickhowell 01873 8414

St. Peter’s Lodge, Glasbury-on-Wye 01497 847934

Treberfydd, Llangasty 01874 730205

Tretower Court & Castle 01874 730279 www.cadw.wales.gov.uk

The White House, Groesfford 01874 665421

Golf

Cradoc Golf Club & Driving Range (non-members can use driving range with no handicap required) www.cradoc.co.uk

Builth Wells Golf Club www.builthwellsgolf.co.uk

Llandrindod Wells Golf Club www.lwgc.co.uk

Summerhill Golf Course, Hay-on-Wye (pay-as-you-play course with no membership required) www.summerhillgolfcourse.co.uk

History & Heritage

The Skirrid Inn (oldest pub in Wales, previously courthouse, prison & gallows) www.skirridmountaininn.co.uk

Judges Lodgings www.judgeslodging.co.uk

Abergavenny Museum & Castle www.abergavennymuseum.co.uk

Tretower Court & Castle 01874 730279 www.cadw.wales.gov.uk

Brecon Cathedral & Heritage Centre www.breconcathedral.org.uk

Blaenavon World Heritage Site www.world-heritage-blaenavon.org.uk

Regimental Museum www.rww.org.uk

Thomas Shop & Museum www.thomas-shop.co.uk

Welsh Crannog Centre www.llangorselake.co.uk

Craig y Nos Castle www.craifynoscastle.com

Cyfartha Castle Museum & Art Gallery www.museums.merthyr.gov.uk

Rhondda Heritage Park www.rhonddaheritagepark.com

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir, Llandrindod Wells www.abbeycwmhir.com

National Cycle Collection www.cyclemuseum.org.uk

Big Pit National Coal Museum www.museumwales.ac.uk/en/bigpit

Horse Riding, Pony Trekking & Llama Trekking

Tregoyd Mountain Riders www.tregoydriding.co.uk

Ellesmere Riding Centre www.trail-riding.co.uk

Llangorse Riding Centre www.activityuk.com

Cantref Riding Centre www.cantref.com

Grange Trekking Centre www.grangetrekking.co.uk

Trevelog Pony Trekking Centre www.pony-trekking.net

Golden Castle Riding Stables www.golden-castle.co.uk

Llanthony Riding & Trekking www.llanthony.co.uk

Epynt Way www.defence-estates.mod.uk/epyntway

Three Rivers Ride www.horseridingbreconbeacons.com

Golden Valley Llamas www.goldenvalleyllamas.co.uk

Kayaking, Canoeing & Boating

Paddles & Pedals Canoe & Kayak Hire www.canoehire.co.uk

Wye Valley Canoe Centre www.wyevalleycanoes.so.uk

Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal Boat Trips www.dragonfly-cruises.co.uk

Brecon Canal Basin Boat & Canoe Hire www.breconparkdayboats.co.uk

Mountainbike Tours & Trails www.mountanbiketours.co.uk

Llangorse Lake Boat Hire www.llangorselake.co.uk

Beacon Park Boats www.beaconparkboats.com

Celtic Canoes www.celticcanoes.co.uk

Cambrian Cruisers www.cambriancruisers.co.uk

Leisure Centres

Music, Cinema, Arts, Crafts & Literature

Theatr Brycheiniog www.brycheiniog.co.uk

The Coliseum Film Centre www.coliseumbrecon.co.uk

Brecon Jazz Festival www.breconjazz.co.uk

Brecon Fringe Festival www.breconfringe.co.uk

Green Man Festival www.thegreenmanfestival.co.uk

Hay Literary Festival www.hayfestival.com

Presteigne Festival of Music and the Arts www.presteignefestival.com

Crickhowell Choral Society May Festival www.crickhowellchoralsociety.org

The Living Willow Theatre www.livingwillowheatre.co.uk

Wyeside Theatre & Film www.wyeside.co.uk

Brecon Cathedral musical events www.breconcathedral.org.uk

Presteigne Assembly Rooms www.midborderarts.org.uk

Llanthony Art Courses www.llanthonyart.co.uk

Court Cupboard Craft Gallery www.courtcupboardgallery.com

Galleries in the Black Mountains www.galleriesintheblackmountains.co.uk

Erwood Station Craft Centre & Gallery www.erwood-station.co.uk

Wool Emporium www.woolemporium.co.uk

Artbeat Brecon Trail www.artbeatbrecon.co.uk

Cyfartha Castle Museum & Art Gallery www.museums.merthyr.gov.uk

Outdoor Activities

The following links provide multiple outdoor activities such as abseiling, archery, canoeing, caving, clay pigeon shooting, climbing, coasteering, expeditions, gorge adventure, gorge walking, high level rope course, hill walking, kayaking, land carting, mountain biking, mountain boarding, mountain walking, mountaineering, orienteering, pool jumps, potholing, power kiting, raft building, rafting, rock climbing, tower zip wire, white water kayaking, white water rafting etc.

Black Mountain Activities www.blackmountain.co.uk

Absolute Adventure www.absoluteadventure.co.uk

Interactivities Outdoor Adventure www.interactivities-uk.com

Beacons Experience www.beacons-experience.co.uk

Dragon Adventure www.dragonadventure.co.uk

Hay Outdoor Training www.training-activities.co.uk

Outdoor Professionals Co-operative www.multi-activity.co.uk

Barking Mad Survival School www.barkingmadsurvival.co.uk

Visitors Centres, Country Parks, Forests & Wildlife Reserves

Craig-y-Nos www.breconbeacons.org

Crychan Forest (trails for horse-riding, family cycling, & walking) www.crychanforest.org.uk

Brecknock Wildlife Trust www.brecknockwildlifetrust.org.uk

Brecon Beacons National Park Visitor / Mountain Centre www.breconbeacons.org

Fforest Fawr Geopark www.fforestfawrgeopark.org.uk

Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty www.wyevalleyaonb.org.uk

Craig y Cilau National Nature Reserve, Crickhowell www.ccw.gov.uk

Craig Cerrig-Gleisiad A Fan National Nature Reserve, Libanus www.ccw.gov.uk

Cwm Clydach National Nature Reserve www.ccw.gov.uk

Brecon Beacons National Park www.getactive-beacons.co.uk

Brecon Beacons National Park www.visitbreconbeacons.com

Brecon Beacons National Park www.exploremidwales.com

Land of the Sleeping Giant www.sgfnet.co.uk

Elan Valley Visitor Centre www.elanvalley.org.uk

Walking, Hiking & Guided Tours

Self-guided walks http://www.breconbeaconsparksociety.org/Self%20Guided%20Walks/psSelfGuidedWalks.htm

Walking routes in Powys www.powystrails.org.uk

The Swan of the Usk Henry Vaughan Way from Talybont-on-Usk

Wye Valley Walk www.wyevalleywalk.org

Glyndwr’s Way www.glyndwrsway.org.uk

Severn Way www.severnway.com

Beacons Way www.breconbeaconsparksociety.org

Epynt Way www.defence-estates.mod.uk/epyntway

Offa’s Dyke Path www.nationaltrail.co.uk/OffasDyke

Taff Trail

Garwnant Forest Trails

Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal - Brecon to Brynich Lock

Explore Llangorse Lake on foot

Talgarth Walkabouts

Explore Heart of Wales www.exploreheartofwales.co.uk

Celtic Trails www.beaconsway.co.uk

Drover Holidays Walking Tours www.droverholidays.co.uk

Ride and Hike www.rideandhike.co.uk

Llandrindod Wells Town Walks www.llandrindod.co.uk

Brecon Beacons Park Society www.breconbeaconsparksociety.org

Brecon Ramblers Association www.powysramblers.rg.uk

Powys Recreational Trails www.powystrails.org.uk

Kevin Walker Mountain Activities www.mountain-activities.com

Others

Craig y Nos Castle events / banquets www.craigynoscastle.com/events.htm

Cambrian Woollen Mill & Visitor Centre www.cambrian-mill.co.uk

Red Kite Feeding Station www.gigrin.co.uk

Rhayader Four Wheel Drive www.rhayader4x4.co.uk

Black Mountains Gliding Club www.blackmountainsgliding.co.uk

Hawksdrift Falconry www.hawksdrift.co.uk

Black Mountain Red Kite Feeding Centre www.redkiteswales.co.uk

Welsh Royal Crystal www.welshcrystal.co.uk

Festival Park Branded Outlet Shopping Village www.festivalshopping.co.uk

The Phoenix Retreat for Holistic Health www.thephoenixretreat.co.uk

The Sugarloaf Vineyards www.sugarloafvineyards.co.uk


Our local photos

Elan Valley

Elan Valley

Pen-y-Fan

Pen-y-Fan

Brecon Beacons

Brecon Beacons

On Pen-y-Fan

On Pen-y-Fan

Another Walk

Another Walk

Llyn Brianne

Llyn Brianne

Ystradfellte Waterfall

Ystradfellte Waterfall

Waterfall

Waterfall

Water fall

Water fall

Waterfalls

Waterfalls

We like waterfalls!

We like waterfalls!

Behind Waterfall

Behind Waterfall

Wet head!

Wet head!

On Black Mountains

On Black Mountains

Mountain by caravan

Mountain by caravan

Hard work!

Hard work!

Stopped for a rest!

Stopped for a rest!

Nature reserve

Nature reserve

Near Crickhowell

Near Crickhowell

Near Rhayader

Near Rhayader

On the river Wye

On the river Wye

Balloon festival

Balloon festival

In Rhayader

In Rhayader

Caravan play

Caravan play

Dinosaur park

Dinosaur park

View from Cradoc

View from Cradoc

Clouds over caravan

Clouds over caravan

Hill walking

Hill walking

Llangorse carnival

Llangorse carnival

Talybont valley

Talybont valley

PLEASE SEND ANY PHOTOS OF LOCAL ATTRACTIONS TO BE INCLUDED HERE TO JONATHAN AT FootmanJ@aol.com